LUNA, APAYAO – Three local government units (LGUs) received the Forwarding Local Autonomy Medal of Excellence or FLAME awards while four others received special citation during the Cordillera Day celebration held on July 15, 2015 in this town,hosted by the province of Apayao.

The FLAME awards aim to recognize the contributions of local governments in upholding the goals of the Regional Development Council (RDC) – CAR towards good governance and sustainable development, and the attainment of an autonomous government.

Baguio City won the highest medal of excellence in Category 1 or the Provinces and Highly Urbanized City Category. Benguet and Mt. Province won first runner-up and second runner-up, respectively. The medals of excellence were received by Mayor Domogan, Governor Fongwan, and Mr. Johnny Co who represented Governor Mayaen. Each winner also received a plaque of recognition and a set of gong.

Special awards were given to La Trinidad, Benguet and Alfonso Lista, Ifugao under Category 2 or the 1st to 3rd Class Municipality/Component City Category; and Sta. Marcela, Apayao and Tublay, Benguet under Category 3 or the 4th to 6th Class Municipality Category

RDC Chairman Gov. Eustaquio Bersamin, NEDA Assistant Dir. Jedidia L. Aquino, and Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel who was the keynote speaker of the event, presented the awards.

The awards are being conferred to LGUs for the first time this year, resulting from the assessment of the Regional Awards Committee (RAC) chaired by NEDA Dir. Milagros A. Rimando