Chief executives of BLISTT, in a meeting last December 20, 2013 reviewed and confirmed its amended Memorandum of Agreement (MOA). In the August 2013, it was decided that the city/municipal councils shall review the MOA and either grant authority to the mayor to sign or confirm the mayor’s signing.

Among those in the meeting were Baguio City Mayor Mauricio Domogan, La Trinidad Mayor Edna Tabanda, Itogon Mayor Victorio Palangdan, Sablan Mayor Arthur Baldo, and Tublay Mayor Ruben Paoad. DENR Regional Executive Director Clarence Baguilat represented by RTD Augusto Lagon, DOT Regional Director Purificacion Molintas, and NEDA Regional Director Milagros Rimando were also around.

The first MOA draft only named DILG, NEDA, the Local Government Development Foundation (LOGODEF) heads, the Provincial Governor, and private sector representatives to be part of the Development Council.

In the August meeting, it was decided that a governing body shall be created while the development council shall be expanded to include other agency heads.

The revised MOA stated that the governing body shall be composed of the mayors. The regional directors of the DPWH, DENR, DTI, DOT and NCIP, the BLISTT Municipal/City Planning and Development Coordinators, and  the Benguet Provincial Police Director were included as part of the BLISTT Development Council which shall be mainly responsible for the drafting of the BLISTT Strategic Framework.

As of press time, the 2014 Work and Financial Plan including a series of consultations on the BLISTT Project are being readied. A resolution is also being prepared for the possible expansion of the DOST feasibility study on an automated guide-way transit (monorail) to cover the whole of BLISTT and include electric jeepneys among the technical alternatives to be assessed.


by Shah Balaw-ing