by Shah Balaw-ing

It was a perfect attendance for the mayors of BLISTT during its first Development Council  meeting last August 5, 2013 at Country Club, Baguio City. Local chief executives present were  Hon. Mauricio G. Domogan of Baguio City, Hon. Edna C. Tabanda of La Trinidad, Hon. Victorio T. Palangdan of Itogon, Hon. Arthur C. Baldo of Sablan, Hon. Florencio V. Bentrez of Tuba and Hon. Ruben E. Paoad of Tublay. Others in attendance were RDC CAR Vice Chairperson and NEDA CAR Director Milagros A. Rimando, DILG CAR Director John M. Castañeda, DILG Benguet Provincial Director Rufina T. Fegcan, DILG Baguio City Director Evelyn B. Trinidad and EMB-DENR CAR Director Oscar C. Cabanayan.

Convened by the RDC and hosted by Baguio City Mayor Mauricio Domogan, who presided over it, the meeting focused the discussions on the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) signed last July 2012 by all the BLISTT mayors, the provincial governor of Benguet, the RDC Co-Chair, the CAR Regional Directors of NEDA and DILG, and the Local Government Development Foundation (LOGODEF).

The BLISTT Development Council decided to include other agencies namely DPWH, NCIP, DTI, DOT and DENR to enrich the Development Council’s technical capabilities. It was agreed that the BLISTT mayors will comprise a governing body which will approve the recommendations of the BLISTT Development Council. The specific functions of the governing council and its relationship to the rest of the BLISTT structure shall be determined in the next council meeting.

The members are encouraged to study the MOA and make proposals on further cooperation.

It is expected that before the end of the year, more consultations shall had been conducted to generate comments and issues that must be addressed and lead to a commitment for a BLISTT re-planning.