It was a rare and momentous sight to see the leaders and more than a thousand representatives of the provinces of Abra, Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Kalinga, Ifugao and Mt. Province converge to advance the region’s autonomy during the Cordillera Regional Autonomy Summit held at the Baguio City National High School Gym last April 30, 2014

Withholding nothing, the Congressmen of the aforementioned LGUs affirmed their intention of filing the third bill on the Cordillera Autonomy Act in Congress. Together with the representatives of the different sectors from the different provinces, the solons also signed the manifesto towards the end of the summit.

Board Member Leonard Andanan of Abra, Governor Elias C. Bulut, Jr. of Apayao, Gov. Nestor B. Fongwan of Benguet, Gov. Denis B. Habawel of Ifugao, Gov. Jocel C. Baac of Kalinga, Gov. Leonard G. Mayaen of Mountain Province and Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan of Baguio City presented the results of their respective pre-summit efforts, which include grassroots consultations in their LGUs.

Both the pre-summit consultations and the Regional Summit are coordinated by both NEDA-CAR and the Regional Development Council.


by Christine Mamuyac, SPCAR