Mayor Domogan (holding microphone) presides over the Drafting Committee Meeting.  Also in picture are, from left: Dr. Peter Cosalan and Mr. Apolinario Bagano of Benguet; Mr. Franklin Odsey of Mountain Province; Engr. Andres Ngao-i of Kalinga; RDC Acting Chair and NEDA-CAR Director Juan Ngalob; Mr. Boyd Ngipol of Ifugao and; Mr. Cresencio Calina of Abra       

Baguio City:   The RDC shall henceforth be guided by the Five Core Principles of Autonomy, which Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan presented during the meeting of the Mother Committee on Cordillera Autonomy Working Draft held at the City Hall Multipurpose Hall here last September 30, 2010.          

The committee approved a motion that the Five Core Principles of Autonomy as well as the First and Second Organic Acts shall serve as starting working documents to craft a third autonomy law.  The First (R.A. No. 6766) and Second(R.A. No. 8438) were rejected in the 1990 and 1998 plebiscites which advocates assert were due to lack of ample time to inform the people.          

The five principles are:  

1) Permanent regional identity where the term Cordillerans shall apply to all Filipino citizens who are domiciled within the territory of the CAR;  

2) The powers and benefits of the region, including the different units within it, shall not be diminished;  

3) Nationally paid officials and employees will continue to be nationally paid and the budgetary needs of the regional agencies where they belong shall continue to be provided by the national government;  

4) Mandate the national government, under the Autonomy law to provide subsidy for the first ten years of the Cordilera Autonomous Region over and above the internal revenue allotment and other existing benefits that are being enjoyed by the local government units;  and  

5)  After the period of subsidy, the national government shall continue to provide sufficient budgetary allocation to the region in order to ensure its financial stability and sustenance. 

The Special Committee on Cordillera Autonomy Working Draft was convened and organized in September 3, 2010.  It is comprised of representatives from the provinces and NGOs/POs and other sectoral groups.  It was also called the Mother Committee after it asked provinces to form sub-committees.  

During the meeting in September 30, the Mother Committee urged its provincial sub-committees to hold “best effort” consultations until December 2010 with the 500 thousand IEC Fund to be provided for each province.  The consultations is expected to generate comments and recommendations on the Five Basic Principles as well as the First and Second Cordillera Autonomy Laws.            

The Mother Committee also tasked the secretariat (NEDA-CAR) to reproduce the pertinent documents for consultations and provide the LGUs, NGOs/POs and other interested groups for their utilization and also for them to make comments and suggestions then submit to the Mother Committee.