The gap sections at the start and end of Ayaga – Sta. Marcela – Flora – Lasam Road are now declared national roads. The Ayaga-Sta. Marcela segment is the access road of Sta. Marcela, Apayao from Maharlika Hi-Way, connecting the cities of Laoag and Tuguegarao.

The conversion of these road segments, about 11.07 kms in length, was effected through DPWH Department Order No. 188, signed by Secretary Rogelio Singson on 23 December 2015.

The Cordillera Regional Development Council, through Resolution No. 46, s. 2015, requested for the conversion of these road segments, on the recommendation of the RDC-CAR Infrastructure Committee, the CAR Regional Project Monitoring Committee (RPMC-CAR), DPWH Apayao 2nd Engineering District, and the Provincial Government of Apayao. They recognized the significance of the Region II link during project visits conducted in Sta. Marcela and Flora, Apayao.

With the declaration of these road segments that link Region II and the Province of Apayao, both the Cagayan and Cordillera Regions can look forward to improved access to the two regions’ vast farmlands, leading to enhanced productivity and improved interregional trade.