By Dexter A. See Friday, 27 May 2011 13:48
BAGUIO CITY – The draft of the third autonomy law which was turned over by the Regional Development Council (RDC) Technical Working Group (TWG) to Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan, chairman of the Third Autonomy Act Drafting Committee (TAADC) last week, will still undergo a series of consultations with concerned local officials and stakeholders before it will be formally filed in Congress by Cordillera lawmakers when the 2nd regular session of the 15th Congress opens by the 4th Monday of July.
Dr. Virgilio Bautista, RDC-CAR co-chair; lawyer Alexander L. Bangsoy, Mr. Cesar Liporada, chairman of the RDC-CAR’s development administration committee and other influential Cordillerans turned over the 50-page draft to the city mayor for deliberations and consultations with the TAADC anytime.
Salient provisions of the draft autonomy law include the grant of a P10 billion subsidy for the autonomous government for the first five years and P5 billion for the succeeding five years of the 10-year subsidy period to fast-track development in the region. The subsidy shall be equally divided among the seven provinces of Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, the City of Baguio and the regional autonomous government. Municipalities and component cities like Tabuk, Kalinga will also get a P10 million share from the subsidy of the province where they belong while barangays will also get a P1 million share from the subsidy.


Read more at:  Cordillera Voice