QUEZON CITY – La Trinidad, Benguet is a national awardee in the 2019 Search for Outstanding Volunteers given by the Philippine National Volunteer Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA) last December 16, 2019 at Batasang Pambansa.

La Trinidad is one of the 3 LGUs awarded under the category of Special Award for LGU in recognition of LGU’s efforts at promoting volunteerism in their locality.

In particular, La Trinidad was recognized for accrediting and supporting the La Trinidad Accredited Community Disaster Volunteers (LT-ACDV), a non-government organization involved in disaster response.  The ACDV has 123 volunteers from 18 barangays with volunteers coming from all walks of life from high school students to medical professionals. LT-ACDV has been consistent in its volunteer performance being a regular responder in any kind of incident and disaster in the municipality and the province of Benguet.

A notable initiative started by LT-ACDV is the “1 responder per household” project intended to have one member of the household who has knowledge and trained in first aid and basic life support. It has already conducted 114 first aid and basic life support in the municipality.  Their expertise was applied and their services valued not only during disaster in La Trinidad but in neighboring areas.  In particular, they were one of the first responders during the onslaught of Typhoon Ompong last Sept 2018 as they led in the search and rescue operations in Barangay Loacan, Itogon, Benguet.

The award was received by Mayor Romeo Selda and members of the LT-ACDV in the presence of Congresswoman Rep. Florida “Rida” Robes of San Jose Del Monte (Chairperson of the Committee on Peoples Participation), NEDA Undersecretary  Mike dela Rosa, OIC of PNVSCA Corazon Macaraig. The awardees for this year are the following:

1.    Dr. Romulo Davide – Volunteer Lifetime Achievement Awardee

2.    Aliah Alam – Individual-Youth Category

3.    Joel Dela Costa – Individual-Adult Category

4.    Dr. Zsa-Zsa May Meneses – Individual-Adult Category

5.    Engineer Cristeta Gallano – Individual-Adult Category

6.    Soroptimist International of Mandaluyong or SIM – Non-Profit Organization Category

7.    University of La Salette Inc. High School (ULSHS) Community Relations and Outreach Program – Non-Profit Organization Category

8.    Barangay Poblacion, Burgos, Ilocos Norte – Special Award for LGUs

9.    Mandaluyong City – Special Award for LGUs

10.  Municipality of La Trinidad, Benguet – Special Award for LGUs