Mayors of Baguio, Itogon, Sablan, Tuba and Tublay signed the BLISTT Amended Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) in a breakfast meeting last January 17, 2014 at the Prince Plaza Hotel, Baguio City subject to their respective Sanggunian Bayan/Panglungsod’s confirmation.  La Trinidad Mayor Edna Tabanda awaits the confirmation and authorization to sign from La Trinidad’s Sanggunian Bayan.

If confirmed by the respective Sanggunian Bayan/Panglungsod, the signed Amended MOA will supersede the 2012 BLISTT MOA together with any agreements previously signed by the parties.

The amended MOA creates the Governing Council, composed of the BLISTT Local Executives, and the Development Council composed of the BLISTT Mayors together with their respective Municipal Planning and Development Officers (MPDOs), Baguio and Benguet Congressmen, Benguet Governor, Benguet and Baguio City/Provincial Police Directors, LOGODEF, and regional line agencies namely the DILG, DENR, DOT, DPWH, DTI, NCIP, and NEDA.

Also signed by all BLISTT executives is a resolution requesting the DOST/ Metal Industry Research and Development Center to expand the coverage of its feasibility study on urban monorail/train system for Baguio to include the whole of BLISTT and consider electrical jeepneys as an alternative.

Next in the BLISTT Agenda includes the election of officers in the Governing Council, the BLISTT Strategic Development Framework and local consultations to solicit views on the BLISTT initiative.



by Freda Toyoken