The elected RDC-CAR PSRs (top) were proclaimed by Mr. Jonathan Ligligen, the Election Committee Chair and Team Leader of the Office of the President-Presidential Management Staff North Luzon Field Office (bottom-right). The Election Committee members include Ms. Emily Lumpio, DBM-CAR Chief Budget Management Staff and Atty. Genevieve Shontogan, DILG-CAR Legal Officer shown here during the canvassing of ballots (bottom, left)

The Cordillera Regional Development Council (RDC-CAR), through the Cordillera National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA-CAR), conducted the Private Sector Representatives (PSR) Election on August 12, 2022 in Baguio City.

RDC-CAR Vice-Chairperson and NEDA-CAR Regional Director Susan A. Sumbeling welcomed the 17 nominees from private sector organizations (PSOs) who qualified in the selection process. She highlighted the importance of the private sector in the development of the region through policy- and decision-making. 

RDC-CAR Secretary and NEDA-CAR Asst. Regional Dir. Stephanie F. Christiansen presented the guidelines in the selection and election of PSRs and introduced the sectoral committees of the RDC.

She informed that the Council will have 16 PSRs where six will be elected as sectoral PSRs and seven will be elected as geographic representatives. She mentioned that two basic sector representatives will be endorsed by the National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC) and one labor representative will be endorsed by the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE).

Eleven candidates were proclaimed as RDC-CAR PSRs for 2022-2025 by the Chairman of the Election Committee and Presidential Management Staff – North Luzon Team Leader Mr. Jonathan Ligligen after the canvassing of ballots. They will be taking their oath of office as RDC members during the Council’s third quarter meeting on September 8, 2022.

The elected PSRs in the sectoral and geographic seats are as follows:  

Sectoral PSRs:

Development Administration and Good Governance (DevAd) – Mr. Ferdinand P. Gonzales of the Peoples Organization for Social Transformation (POST Philippines);

Economic Development Committee (EconDev) – Mr. Rafael C. Gayaso of the Northern Luzon Federation of Cooperatives and Development Center (NORLU CEDEC);

Infrastructure Development (InfraCom) – Arch. Maria Jorquesa A. Hakcholna of the Philippine Institute of Environmental Planners – Northern Luzon Chapter (PIEP-NL);

Regional Social Development Committee (RSDC) – Mr. Arnel Cabanisas of the Filipino-Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.;

Indigenous Peoples’ Concerns (CIPC) – Ms. Edna C. Tabanda of the Igorot Global Organization, Philippines (IGO-PH); and,

Watershed and Environmental Management (WEMC) – Dr. Julie C. Cabato of the Shontoug Foundation.

Geographic PSRs:

Abra – Ms. Paulina Sawadan of the Sine Abreño;

Baguio – Engr. Mary Carmelle V. Bautista of the Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers-Baguio Chapter (PICE);

Benguet – Mr. Victor T. Luacan of the Cooperative Bank of Benguet;

Ifugao – Mr. Godfrey D. Dominong of the Ifugao Global Entrepreneurs Multi-Purpose Cooperative; and

Mountain Province – Mr. Paulino Tumapang, Jr. of the Lang-ay Organization.