The RDC-CAR received the Plaque of Recognition as Science and Technology Champion on September 21, 2022 during the celebration of the National S&T Week held at the Benguet State University in La Trinidad, Benguet.

The Regional Development Council (RDC) of the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) was recognized as Science and Technology (S&T) champion by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) during the opening program of the National S&T week on September 21, 2022 held at the Benguet State University in La Trinidad, Benguet.

DOST-CAR Regional Director (RD) Nancy A. Bantog thanked the RDC for its unwavering contribution to the passing of Republic Act (RA) 11914 which converts the Provincial S&T Center into an Office.

The RDC has adopted four resolutions in the last two years that supported the implementation of science and technology, and innovation in the region. These are the following: (1) CAR No. 93 s. 2021 Enjoining all local government units and regional lines agencies in CAR to adopt and operationalize relevant evidence-based policy actions advocated by the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) to effectively address COVID-19 and its emerging variants, (2) CAR No. 5 s. 2021 Earnestly requesting the Congress of the Philippines for the immediate passage of the proposed Science for Change Program, (3) CAR No. 49 s. 2022 Adopting the Cordillera Regional Research, Development and Innovation agenda 2023-2028, and, (4) CAR No. 50 s. 2022 Adopting the PAGTANAW 2050 as a Strategic Development Framework for Innovation complementing the full implementation of the Philippine Innovation Act.

The Council approved the creation of the Regional Research, Development and Innovation Committee (RRDIC) in 2018. As a support committee, it coordinates and provides strategic policy directions and harmony on major research and development activities in the region and address gaps in these areas.

Director Bantog heads the RRDIC and NEDA Regional Office (NRO) Director Susan A. Sumbeling serves as the Vice-Chairperson.