by Ma. Emelie Daquipil/ Maureen Atonen

During the PSR Convention held on May 15, 2013, nominees of various NGOs, CSOs, and private companies in the Cordillera Region selected from among themselves individuals who will represent the private sector in the Regional Development Council.

Voted as private sector representatives in the various RDC sectoral committees are: Mr. Voltaire Acosta (Council for the Restoration of Filipino Values) for the  Development Administration Committee; Dr. Virgilio Bautista (Rotary Club of Baguio) and Mr. Rafael Gayaso (North Luzon Federation of Cooperatives and Development Center) for the Economic Development  Committee; Engr. Antonio R. Caluza (Philippine Institute of Civil Engineering- Baguio Chapter) for the Infrastructure Committee; and Ms. Marieta Paragas (Cordillera Network of Development NGOs and POs) for the Social Development Committee.

The Watershed and Environment Management Secom will have Dr. Julie Cabato (Shontoug) and Mr. Ferdinand Gonzales (People’s Organization on Social Transformation); Mr. John Bugaling (Agriculture and Fishery Council Foundation of the Philippines) and Mr. Gerry Lab-oyan (Community-Based Business Cooperation Foundation) will join the Agriculture Committee; and Ms. Lynn Madalang of Ebgan and Mr. Marcelo Abela of the Regional Agricultural and Fishery Council will be part of the Indigenous Peoples Committee. Representing the Labor Sector is Mr. Esteban Pomeg-as of the Lepanto Local Staff Union.

Also voted as the private sector’s voice in the Regional Project Monitoring Committee are Mr. Virgilio Reoma of the Divinity in Diversity Alliance and Engr. Tony Caluza.

The convention ended with the proclamation of the new PSRs by the RDC Vice-Chairperson and NEDA-CAR Regional Director Milagros Rimando.

The selected PSRs will have their oath-taking during the next RDC meeting scheduled in June 2013.  They will be working with the RDC for the next three years, after which there will be another reorganization to coincide with the new set of local officials.